• Fri. Sep 30th, 2022

Best New Tracks: Tyler, the Creator Doja Cat, Icewear Vezzo x Future and More

Jun 25, 2021

As the week in music comes to a close, HYPEBEAST has rounded up the 10 best projects for the latest installment of Best New Tracks.

This week’s list is led by Tyler, the Creator and Doja Cat with the release of their new albums Call Me If You Get Lost and Planet Her, while Future joined Icewear Vezzo on the cut “Tear The Club Up.” Also joining this selection are Cautious Clay, BFB Da Packman and LOONY with fresh projects, plus singles and music videos from Jorja Smith, Headie One, Mick Jenkins and Azekel.

Tyler, the Creator – Call Me If You Get Lost

Just a week after teasing fans with a billboard on Sunset Boulevard, Tyler, the Creator dropped off his latest full-length effort, Call Me If You Get Lost. The stunning 16-track project features appearances from the likes of Pharrell, Lil Uzi Vert, Domo Genesis and more, and hears Tyler take structural notes from previous releases like WOLF, Flower Boy and IGOR.

Listen: Spotify | Apple Music

Doja Cat – Planet Her

Doja Cat is welcoming listeners to the wonderful world of Planet Her in her latest 14-track offering. The artist also teamed up with the likes of Young Thug, The Weeknd, Ariana Grande, JID and SZA for a series of collaborative tracks, adding layers to the creative visual backdrop she’s created.

Listen: Spotify | Apple Music

Icewear Vezzo x Future – “Tear The Club Up”

Icewear Vezzo linked up with Future to unveil the hard-hitting cut, “Tear The Club Up.” The collab arrives just a month after the Detroit artist released his latest record, Rich Off Pints, and a few weeks after Future appeared on the Culture III track “Picasso” with Migos.

Listen: Spotify | Apple Music

Cautious Clay – Deadpan Love

Cautious Clay finally delivered his highly-anticipated album, Deadpan Love. Speaking of the record, the artist reveals that it “explores the ways I cope with the worst of what humanity has to offer,” adding, “It’s about opposites—having an outer layer that’s tougher, this “deadpan” state, and an inner layer of compassion, where you’re open to being there for the people you care about. It’s this warring compassion and cynicism that has empowered me to express myself through this medium.”

Listen: Spotify | Apple Music

Jorja Smith – “Home”

Jorja Smith shared an accompanying music video for her Be Right Back cut, “Home.” Directed by Rob Akin in Uxbridge, England, the artist said, “The song is about people in relationships that aren’t healthy or good for them – they deserve better but don’t know any different. It’s about people keeping up appearances. This video is reflective of the times I used to babysit whilst growing up, as well as my own family experiences – the video is just a take on what I’ve seen.”

Listen: Spotify | Apple Music

Headie One – “Pound Signs”

Following his show-stopping performance at the 2021 BRITs, Headie One unveiled his brand new single “Pound Signs.” Produced by Likkle Dots and Es, the cut hears the artist return to the purity of his drill roots. Meanwhile, its accompanying visual is helmed by the legendary DAPS and takes heavy inspiration from Quentin Tarantino’s Reservoir Dogs.

Listen: Spotify | Apple Music

BFB Da Packman – Fat N****s Need Love Too

Rising rapper BFB Da Packman dropped off his debut studio album Fat N****s Need Love Too, which continues his rise from a Houston-area mailman to one of the industry’s groundbreaking artists. The Flint native enlisted the help of Wiz Khalifa, Lil Yachty, Benny The Butcher, Coi Leray, Sada Baby, Payroll Giovanni, DDG, Noodah and Zack Fox, as well as released a music video for Weekend At Solomon’s.

Listen: Spotify

LOONY – soft thing

Following a series of singles released in early 2021, LOONY delivered her much-awaited EP soft thing. The Toronto-based musician, who was named one of HYPEBEAST’s New Gen: Spring 2021 artists, shared in a statement, “I found myself re-evaluating what’s important to me. Being isolated from people makes you think more about your relationships. It’s been a hard and very strange year and in a lot of ways and I’ve been forced to be more vulnerable than I’d ever been. soft thing is symbolic of that.”

Listen: Spotify | Apple Music

Mick Jenkins – “Truffles”

Mick Jenkins finally released his first single of the year, “Truffles.” Produced by Monte Booker, the new cut follows last year’s “Frontstreet Freestyle” and “Snakes” with Kojey Radical, as well as revered EP The Circus.

Listen: Spotify | Apple Music

Azekel – “Dupè”

Nigerian-born and London-bred interdisciplinary artist Azekel delivered an accompanying music video for “Dupé,” an uplifting and soulful afrobeats ballad filled with endearing lyrical contemplation. In Azekel’s mother tongue of Yoruba, “Dupé” translates to giving thanks. “I recorded Dupė in LA before 2020 happened. I’ve been exploring sounds and music inspired by music of my upbringing, and culture, whilst still incorporating the wavy sound I’ve become known for, and so Dupė is the first of this exploration,” he said in a statement. “The day I worked on it with Sons of Sonix (Stormzy, Ty Dolla $ign) we recorded it all one evening, and since then we keep coming back to it. Super glad people can move and feel to this one, now that it’s out.”

Listen: Spotify | Apple Music
Source: Read Full Article