BLACK Narcissus is a new mini-series coming to BBC One.

It's based on a book of the same title which looks at a nun who struggles with suppressed emotions.

When is Black Narcissus on BBC One?

Black Narcissus begins on BBC on December 27 at 9pm.

The rest of the series will air on consecutive nights at the same time.

Each episode is an hour in length.

Gemma Arterton leads the cast in this dark drama.

What is Black Narcissus about?

Set in the 1930s, it's about British Anglican nuns in India.

The series closely follows Sister Clodagh, a nun leading a group through the Himalayan mountains

She finds herself attracted to Mr Dean, a land agent.

Sister Ruth also develops feelings for the unlikeable man, so it brings out the worst in the two women who struggle to keep their desires under control.

Clodagh is also haunted by her past – specifically, the event that made her turn to life as a Sister.

Show writer, Amanda Coe said: “I’m thrilled to be adapting Black Narcissus for BBC One.

"It’s a truly extraordinary love story, as well as a brilliantly unsettling piece of 20th century gothic about the power of a place to get under your skin and the dangers of refusing to learn from history.”

What book is Black Narcissus based on?

Black Narcissus is based on a book of the same name by Rumer Godden.

It was published in 1939 and went onto become Rumer's first bestseller.

In 1947 it was adapted into an Oscar-winning film and has since been made into a radio drama too.

It looks at the themes of sexual desire, religion and repression.

How many episodes are there of Black Narcissus?

The mini-series is made up of three episdoes.

The first episode will air on Sunday, December 27 at 9pm.

The rest of the series will air over the next two nights at the same time.

Source: Read Full Article